Collecting Clutter

Have you ever collected anything?

I’ve seen my family members and friends do it (even though I know and am glad my mom’s “snowman collection” was more talk than anything else), and I know I’ve been guilty of it.  I’ve collected lots of things, actually.

Let’s see….there was the beanie baby phase, Backstreet Boys posters, the movie ticket stubs and Chinese fortunes, rocks from various places I visited, magazines, movie posters, key chains that were way too cumbersome to ever actually carry around, purses, silly graphic t-shirts, tour t-shirts from my favorite bands, clothes in general from my employment period with American Eagle….

There were even things that no one should ever need more than one of–like hairbrushes and bed comforters.

Just thinking back on all the things I used to own makes me nervous, but also excited over how far I’ve come.  It motivates me to keep pushing forward to get to that place that feels right for me.

It’s funny, because, even though the things I have left in my life seem necessary now, I know that they’re really not.  I can’t wait to see how far I take this thing.

I can’t wait to finally travel light!

Even now, I can’t say that I don’t have any collections in my life.

There’s still a few of those Dave Matthews Band tour t-shirts that keep hanging around, along with a ridiculously large collection of TOMS shoes and an obscene music collection–this includes several large stacks of vinyl that I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to part with.

At least the few things I collect now are things with use or meaning: I still wear my band shirts and TOMS shoes (which I also support because I believe in their cause), and music is a huge part of my life.  I prefer the sound of vinyl recordings to mp3s and almost always choose to buy the actual CD over the digital download.  Is this something that will change?  Maybe.  Just not quite yet.

I wrote this to convince you that any collection is probably a bad idea, but I realize, now, that there are a few exceptions to that rule.

Ultimately, though, we should strive to collect knowledge and awareness more than any material possessions.

This is something I can definitely say I do.  I learn something new or am made aware of new things almost daily.  I love to seek out information on the topics and ideas that move me and love sharing them with others.

I encourage you all to do the same.

So, stop collecting and start collecting….the right things.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Collecting Clutter

  1. Karen says:

    You are so inspiring to me! Love ya baby girl!

  2. I am also working on trying to get rid of things I have accumulated over the years. It’s amazing how much we accumlate….and things that I never use or have use for! It helps to see others also with similar goals – great blog – I’m looking forward to your next post!
    Julia

    • needforless says:

      Thanks so much for reading! I enjoy your blog as well. And yes, you’re right. I always LOVE seeing other people who understand the journey and are going through it themselves. I still have plenty of people thinking I’m losing my mind, but that’s OK. Hopefully they’ll understand when they see the end results. 🙂

  3. addie says:

    Haha. Snowman collection. 😉 I would give anything for you to talk to Curtis. Lol.

  4. vanessakinsey says:

    Definitely continue on your journey to owning less, if that’s what will help lead you to contentment. Don’t, however, forget to go easy on yourself. I think it’s really easy to start thinking about culling possessions the same way we previous thought about accumulating them. It shouldn’t be a stressful journey or a desperate compulsion.

    (Not that I think that’s what’s going on here, but always a good reminder. So just go easy on yourself.)

    “Minimalism isn’t some card-carrying club; it’s just the process of reducing the non-essentials in your life so you can focus more on what makes you happy.”

    • needforless says:

      I agree, completely! Thanks for the encouraging words. If we get so tied up in the stress of “having less”, then what good has the process done us? Great reminder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

