Done….For Now.

Once again, I’ve reached the end of a simplifying cycle.

In less than 2 weeks, my mother and I will be holding, yet another, garage sale.

This time, what we do not sell will most likely be immediately donated.  (In the past, I’ve kept these left-over items for a future garage sale, but am now at a point in my life where I just want to be rid of it.)

I would donate everything immediately–and part of me thinks this would be more rewarding–but am sort of in need of a little extra cash at the moment.  The only items that will not be donated are ones that can be sold online for a respectable amount, such as antiques and collectibles.

Right now, my parents’ dining room is completely over-run with our junk.  I couldn’t believe the amount of stuff we were able to let go of….AGAIN!  After all, this is not our first rodeo.  It seriously looks like an episode of Hoarders!

As I’ve gone through almost everything I have–except for a couple of large stacks of records I’ll attack this week (the vinyl kind, not the paperwork kind)–I really feel satisfied.  Like I’ve finally arrived.

However, based on my previous experience, I know that this feeling is only temporary.  This is just the finish line for this particular layer of the process.  In a very short matter of time, I will find more that I know I can, and will want to, do without.

I love that about this lifestyle.  I feel like I’m constantly growing and changing, learning new things about myself every single day.  It’s an ongoing journey to be content with less and to really learn the meaning of enough.

But….I think I’m getting a little bit closer.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Done….For Now.

  1. Wow – it sounds like you are making huge progress – congrats! I still have quite a bit to fit rid of myself.

    • needforless says:

      Thanks! It definitely takes some time and effort, that’s for sure. I’m so glad to be done with this layer, and so excited for the next one. I can feel that it’s right around the corner. So exciting! Good luck on your journey. I wish you motivation, progress, and LOTS of joy!

Leave a Reply

