Up In Flames

Have you ever secretly wished for a fire in your life?

I have to be honest–part of me has.  (Though, a hurricane would be more appropriate from where I’m standing.)

I know this is extreme, and, of course, not something I would actually want to have to deal with….but the thought of it is liberating.  I just finished reading an article that addresses this topic, and felt that I could definitely relate.  

Even now, after all the work I’ve done on my home.  I look around, and there’s still so much left I could be rid of it.  Even the things I know I’m not emotionally ready to release, I am fully aware that I could do without them. 

That’s what’s so intriguing about the idea of a fire.  It would completely take the decision-making process away, leaving you with only what you needed to survive.

Again, I don’t actually want to deal with the aftermath of a house-fire, and my heart aches for those who have actually had to live the nightmare of one.  I just find myself weary these days of all the decisions, and this is only because I want to go further.

need to go further.

I’m giving myself a little time–seeing as how the last purge was a pretty big one–before moving on to the next step with my possessions.  And truthfully, I feel like my focus for the moment needs to be on my health.

I’m good at sticking to something once I start it, and lately my health/diet has suffered due to my focus on other things.  This is one area that I know I can’t half-ass, so I want to get back on the health wagon, immediately, and build new, permanent, healthy habits.  I may do a post on this subject when I feel I’ve arrived at my lagom.

Do you secretly wish to be stripped of some (or all) of the decision-making when it comes to decluttering your life?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Up In Flames

  1. I have 100% been thinking the exact same thing over the past week. Same thoughts, same reasoning, everything. It’s like you read my mind.

    My parents (who are absolutely hoarders) had a garage fire two years ago. The garage was piled floor to ceiling with tools, holiday decorations, and an uncountable number of antiques (all in poor condition) my mom had salvaged from my great-great uncle’s junkyard of a house. The fire wasn’t bad enough to destroy everything, just some smoke damage. Well rather than getting rid of the excess stuff that was just sitting in the garage taking up space and was now smoke damaged, they paid to have everything stored at a warehouse until the garage was fixed then spent weeks cleaning the soot off of every single thing and returning it to the garage. It was really a missed opportunity in my mind!

    • needforless says:

      Oh, yeah. Definitely should have just let it all go at that point.

      It’s so much tougher for some people. I have an uncle like that, and I honestly don’t know if he’ll ever learn to let go.

      It truly makes me sad to see such time, energy, and space wasted….and for what?

      😥

Leave a Reply

