To Keep? Or Not To Keep?

What constitutes a keepsake?

The term can mean different things for different people.

I’m at a place on my minimalism journey, where the things I’m parting with are becoming more and more meaningful to me.  Occasionally I’ll find a few things that are meaningless, but they are getting harder to come by.

I mentioned in a previous post about my goals, that I wanted to have all my keepsakes fit into one fairly small-sized box.  I’m happy to say I’ve almost arrived.

Most of the things that I want to hold on to, but don’t regularly visit, are in this one box.  Items such as: yearbooks, diplomas, awards, special notes/cards/letters I’ve received through the years, childhood Bible, etc.

(Note: I don’t count my photos and such in this category, as they are of separate importance altogether.  These are just items that mean something to me, that I, from time to time, like to pull out and look through.)

Since my Paw Paw’s death, however, I’m realizing that the meaning of the term keepsake is changing for me.  Death really does put things into perspective.  It becomes so clear what matters and what doesn’t in these heartbreaking situations, especially when thinking of all the things you hold dear that you would trade to have a little more time with your deceased loved one.

Everyone, of course, grieves differently and treasures different things.  I know my Nana will have a hard time parting with any of Paw Paw’s belongings, as she tends to hold on to tangible objects.  I hope to be able to help her let go in some ways, but I understand if she is unable to.

My next post will be an image of said Keepsake Box.  (I placed a CD next to it to give you an idea of size.)

It’s a comfort to know that everything I can’t replace is all together in one condensed location so that I am able to pick it up and go in a crisis.  Everything else is just replaceable fluff.

However, as I stated earlier, my definition of keepsake is changing, and I’m sure I’ll be able to condense my box even further.  I can already think of a couple of things that I feel ready to release.

And how freeing it is!

What items in your life do you consider special, or keepsakes?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “To Keep? Or Not To Keep?

  1. Knapsack Heart says:

    Thanks for following Knapsack Spirit. I’m so glad to have found you! What a blessing that you were able to see your Paw Paw before he went, and he knew you. Living so far away, I didn’t get to see any of my four grandparents and my husband didn’t get to see his parents. And oh, how we would have love to do so. Treasure that time with your grandfather as a true gift, because it really is that! Looking forward to hearing more!

    • needforless says:

      It most certainly was a gift! I’m so thankful for the closeness I have with almost all of my family. It’s something I wouldn’t trade for anything in this world. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

