Van Dweller

My thoughts have been continually going back to the same thing lately.

I see these stories of people who sell 95% of their possessions and do things like live on a boat and travel all over the globe, and am instantly jealous.  I long to be able to live that simply.  Where my time is my own, living life as one experience after another, without the baggage of what most people consider to be normal.

I found this story on Yahoo’s home page about a student who lived in a van while going to grad school so as not to acquire any more debt.  What an awesome testimony to how little you can have in your life and get by.  Heck, not just get by, but complete grad school!  Pretty incredible, if you ask me.

This was just something I felt the need to share today.  It spoke to me, and once again, I find the wheels in my head turning.  How far do I want to go?

I’d also like to thank those of you in this blogging community who I am constantly encouraged by.  Reading your posts just reassure me that I’m not alone in this, and I’m not as crazy as most of the world around me thinks.

Have any of you embarked upon an adventure such as the ones mentioned above?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Van Dweller

  1. It really is amazing how little we really need to live happy and successful lives. The things and debt just tend to bog us down.

  2. Knapsack Heart says:

    We really don’t need much to make us happy; things can’t do that. There’s a lot to be said for blooming where you’re planted too! The grass always looks greener on the other side. But maybe, once we got to that side, it wouldn’t be. I think one of the best things we can do is find meaning and fulfillment in our present situation. It’s great to plan and dream. But if that cheats us out of enjoying today, I’m not sure it’s a good thing. Keep dreaming, but count the blessings you have right now too!

    • needforless says:

      Great advice. I’ve been working on that more the past couple of years. I have spent a lot of time looking forward to the days to come, but lately I’ve realized that the time is now. As Dave Matthews says, “….the future is no place to place your better days.”
      Thanks for the encouragement!

      • Knapsack Heart says:

        I think that’s something we all struggle with. That’s why we all need encouragement!

Leave a Reply

