Health Kick

I’ve decided.

I need less junk in my life, and–unfortunately–for me, food falls in this category.  I’m tired of the way I’ve been feeling these days, and I’m going to jump back on the health wagon.

I was doing so well for months–having completed the INSANITY workout twice through, AND sticking with their meal plan.  But then I got sick the day after I finished cycle 2 and couldn’t shake it.  I felt like I’d never get over that crud!  So, needless to say, exercising as intensely as INSANITY requires you exercise was the last thing on my agenda.

And just like that, my good habits I had built over those 4 months, just went out the window.

Here I am now, 6 months later, ready to get serious again.  I won’t be doing INSANITY, at least not following it exclusively.  I may incorporate some of what I learned from the program into my routine, but for the most part I just want to start small in the exercise department.  I will reevaluate after a month, and go from there.  INSANITY is intense, and right now, my main focus needs to be on my diet.  It’s not so good these days.  😦

So….

starting Monday, June 17th, I will be back on the wagon.  This will give me a few days to prepare, buy better groceries, start weening myself off of the eating-out-so-much thing I’ve been doing, and just get my mind right.

Here’s my plan:

1) I will start a journal–like I did while doing INSANITY–where I will record everything I eat (but not count calories….gross), my exercise each day (or lack thereof), changes I’m noticing, my weight, and my measurements.

2) I’m going to try to eat mostly plants with a few lean meats and nuts.  I’ll be trying to eat as Paleo as possible.  I know from experience that this way of eating is easy for me to stick with and gets me the results I want.

3) I will drink lots of water–probably only water, actually–and will avoid caffeine at all costs.  Caffeine just gives me the shakes and wicked headaches.

4) I will strive to maintain an earlier bedtime, as I am aware that more sleep equals a healthier me.

As far as eating out and alcoholic beverages are concerned, these are my rules:

1) I am allowed to eat out 1 lunch and 1 dinner per week, but they must be healthy meals that follow my diet plan.

2) I will allow myself one cheat meal per month.  And, I mean, one where I can really go over the top and have all the pasta, beer, or dessert I want.

3) I will limit my alcoholic beverage consumption to no more than 7 per month, and they must be drinks with a lower caloric count–unless they are consumed during my cheat meal.

This is my plan of action for now.  I may make a couple of adjustments after the plan’s been underway for a few weeks, but I think this is a great start.

I’m writing about it on my blog, because it’s a way I can hold myself accountable.  Once I tell people I’m going to do something, it kills me to not be able to follow through.

Thanks for reading, and I’ll keep you all updated on my progress.

Do you have any tips to help someone stick to their healthy eating and exercise plan?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

