Wheat-less

I’ve decided, once again, to go wheat-less with my diet.

I’ve done this before and had definite success with it.  There’s so much reading out there lately on the dangers of wheat, and why we should avoid it.  It doesn’t make sense to eat low-fat or fat-free foods, when it’s so plainly clear that fat doesn’t make you fat–the wrong kinds of carbohydrates do.  The choice is obvious to me.

I believe that eating anything containing wheat first thing in the morning will only start my day off on the wrong foot.  My insulin levels will be jacked up, causing my body to burn that sugar for energy instead of its own fat (what I’m trying so desperately to be rid of), and I will crash soon after.  The shakes set in, and I immediately go for some other starchy food for lunch.  Wash, rinse, and repeat for dinner.

It has taken me a week to get over the bulk of the withdrawal symptoms and cravings.  I feel that I’m about 75% over wheat at this point.  That sounds funny to say, but if you cut it out of your diet, you’ll see exactly what I mean by that statement.

Last week–my first week off wheat–I was angry, moody, hungry, shaky on and off, craving every dessert imaginable (and I’m not even a big sweets person), and just down-right miserable.  I had cut wheat out of my diet previously, so I knew what to expect.  Oh, how I wish I had stayed in that habit a few months ago to avoid the withdrawals all over again.

Instead of eating muffins or waffles for breakfast, I’ve switched to eggs, fruit, and almonds.

My lunch usually consists of a spinach salad with olive oil and red wine vinegar, carrots and bell pepper slices with hummus, some warmed tomato juice with a dash of salt and pepper (eaten like a soup), a few more almonds, and maybe a small piece of fruit–as opposed to a sandwich I would have typically eaten before.

For dinner I’m downing a couple of different types of veggies with a lean piece of grilled or baked protein.  In the past, I had nights where all I would have was an entire box of Velveeta mac ‘n’ cheese.  (Don’t judge me.  We’ve all been there.)

And water.  Lots and lots of water.

Sodas have never been a huge issue for me.  I don’t drink a lot of sugary drinks (and never artificially sweetened ones), except for the occasional cup of coffee with cream and sugar, which I’ve cut out also.  Today is my first day trying Bulletproof Coffee, with grass-fed butter, and I’m interested to see how it will affect my life.

I’m getting to the point where I’m full sooner, I eat smaller portions, the shakes are virtually nonexistent, my headaches and joint aches rarely show up (a common symptom of wheat in one’s diet), and I’m in a much better mood.  🙂

The thing is, even though pasta is my favorite food of all time, after getting through the withdrawal stages, I don’t even really miss it.  It’s funny how that works.  I guess I’m just so in love with the way I feel, I don’t want to eat the things that I know will mess me up.

Not to mention I lost over 5 pounds the first week of this lifestyle change.  Definitely a bonus.

I love not counting calories–I’ve done it before, and it sucks.  I eat until I’m full; I just only eat the foods that I know are beneficial to my life and progress.  

I’ve changed from saying, I can’t eat that, to, don’t eat that–which takes me from feeling deprived to grateful for the healthy things I’m putting into my body.  Like I stated previously, I was doing this before and got out of the habit, but this time will be different.  I want to stick with it!

Please understand that I will occasionally have a pasta dish, chocolate chip cookie, or Circus Boy (my current favorite brew).  It’s not like I’m completely cutting these things out of my life from here ’til kingdom come.  They are just no longer a part of my daily routine.  If I can stick to this lifestyle 90-95% of the time, I think I’m going to be just fine.

So….I raise my cup of Bulletproof Coffee to progress and the many weeks and months to come.  Cheers!

Have any of you cut wheat from your diet and noticed drastic changes in your life?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Wheat-less

  1. I haven’t cut out wheat myself although we are considering it since it is suggested for people with Hashimoto’s (a thyroid condition my fiancé has lived with for over a decade). I have discovered a recipe lately for zucchini pasta that’s amazing! Basically you julienne zucchini then sauté it with garlic and olive oil, then toss with your favorite pasta sauce! We had it with pesto last night.

    • needforless says:

      That sounds amazing!
      We’ve been thinking of doing something with spaghetti squash and pasta sauces soon.
      I highly recommend going wheat-less. At least for a little while to see if it’s something you can live with. The first week or 2 is rough, but I think you’ll both love the way you feel after your body adjusts.

  2. Matthea Osinga says:

    I did! Because of the same reasons as you did, I ate bread and was terribly hungry again after an hour. I felt like I needed to eat whole morning. Now I eat brown rice porridge (which is great because it lasts me the whole morning), quinoa porridge, amaranth or oat/chia seed. All great substitutes. Still struggling with lunch though because a sandwich is quick, now I try to make salads or dahl or soup it just takes more time. (btw nice theme :))

    • needforless says:

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting!
      I hear you about the whole sandwich thing. I’ve found a substitute that is actually quite satisfying. I just buy deli meat, some gluten free cheese, add a little salt and pepper, a quality mustard, some pickles and the occasional sliced back olives. Then I layer all the delicious goodness on top of a couple large romaine leaves, and voila! It makes for a pretty satisfactory lettuce wrap. I like that it’s so quick and easy, and I don’t have the crash I normally would an hour later after consuming wheat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

