(Yet Another) Yard Sale Post

Yep.  We’re at it again, people.

Me and my mama will be having another yard sale in just 4 short weeks.

Me and the boyfriend are taking a much needed vacation up to New York for a mini-festival, hosted by my favorite band, The Felice Brothers.  (I encourage everyone to check them out.  They’re pretty freakin’ sweet.)  We just bought a ’99 Honda Civic hatchback last summer with only 67,000 miles on her (we love bragging about it) and want to take her on the open road to see parts of our lovely country that we’ve yet to experience.

We need this trip for our sanity.  Work has been a little hectic for him lately, and our time together is very limited.  We’re hoping to take our relationship to the next level in the very near future and want to enjoy this little slice of time we have before life gets too hectic again.  (It’s funny how busy life can potentially get, even when you’re living simply!)

I’m hoping to save up a little extra cash before we hit the road by selling some more things I never use.  I’ve also been paring down my possessions all along by posting them for sale on Facebook.  I love the success I’ve had with this method!

I’ve given myself a time limit so I’m forced to stay focused on another purge.  I’m finding it much more difficult to find items that aren’t getting any use these days.  This is very encouraging!  I feel like I’m really doing something right.

I’ve made real progress with my wardrobe and am continuing to eliminate pieces on a regular basis.  My kitchen contains almost only frequently used items, and my bathroom is totally uncluttered.  I feel so much more aware of my wants verses my needs than I was just 6 months ago.  Every time I think I’ve got this whole thing figured out, I find another layer to peel away.  I LOVE IT!

The only real area that needs work is me being OK with parting with my grandma’s furniture.  I currently live in her old house, and there are still a few remaining pieces of furniture that are sentimental.  I know that I don’t want to lug these beasts around when it comes time for a move–which could very possibly be sooner rather than later–and will, therefore, try to work my way up to that release before long.

One step at a time.

I like knowing that, if something were to happen to me, I won’t be leaving behind the burden of having to go through and purge my possessions to my loved-ones.  I love them so much and wouldn’t want to put them through such a daunting task.

I feel like I’m slowly, but surely, encouraging others to do the same.  Not everyone gets it–or thinks I’m sane, for that matter *LOL*–and that’s OK.  It’s not for everyone.  I’m just grateful for those in my life who not only do get it but are also so encouraging.  I appreciate you more than I can put into words.

The road is definitely a difficult and less-traveled one, but it is well worth it in the end.

It’s just nice to know I’m not alone in the journey.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “(Yet Another) Yard Sale Post

  1. Mom says:

    Proud of you, my baby! Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

