Personal Manifesto

Today is the day.

It’s time for me to get my life together.

I’ve been pussyfooting around for months now when I’ve known, all along, the things that I’m capable of.  I can achieve greatness, so why waste time being so sluggish about it?

I’m going to start eating better.  Today begins my 3-day fast: a fast from wheat, dairy, sugar, and meat to kick-start my body.  After that, it’s moderation from then on out, while still striving to avoid the foods that are poison.

No more laziness with my body.  I will start exercising 4-5 days per week and spend time in prayerful meditation daily.

I will get back on my novel.  It needs me to finish it.  I will finish it.

I will continue to eliminate the unnecessary from my life.  I’ve done extremely well with this endeavor so far.  I will keep up the pace, attacking the areas that are more difficult with a vengeance.  My world needs to represent my life now.  I will not have my home be a museum of my life or let the past’s junk define me.  It’s difficult enough trying to find out who I am and where my place is without having to trudge through the reminders of yesterday, telling me who I used to be.  I don’t owe the past anything.

I will press on toward my goals.

Today begins the rest of it all.

Today is the day for change.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Personal Manifesto

  1. The Simple Italians says:

    I like “I will not have my home be a museum of my life or let the past’s junk define me.” Never thought about it before, but very insightful!

    • needforless says:

      I once read that statement somewhere, about how our homes shouldn’t be museums of our lives. I looked around, and realized that that was what mine had become. I knew it was time for change.
      Thanks for commenting!
      🙂

      • The Simple Italians says:

        I agree! We shouldn’t dwell in a museum, but have our life be an ongoing drama on life’s stage!

  2. Sheri says:

    I wish my husband felt the way you speak..because I feel the same way too
    about possessions and or clutter.

    I told him that he likes the way furniture groceries,
    and yard items or house hold dishes and decorative items look in the store

    well that is the way I want them to look in our home,

    there is a reason the item for sale is not cluttered and it is displayed the way they are in the stores ..

    because that is what attracts someone, they see the object
    totally..defined and by itself..and the beauty of it or interest it causes
    and someone buys it.

    My little talk with my husband, Larry, it did not create any change in him..
    He likes clutter and cluttered cabinets and closets!

    I do not.

    Sheri

    • needforless says:

      You definitely have a point Sheri!
      They arranged items in stores to specifically draw you in.
      I like to think of stores and shopping malls as museums for the most part. I try to only ever go shopping if there is something I truly, TRULY need, and I usually always take a list, whether it be physical or mental, and try my hardest to not veer from it.
      I used to shop all the time, and spend countless dollars on things that didn’t matter; things I wouldn’t even like that much after I got them home. But I’ve realized over the past few years that I’d much rather have experiences than a house full of stuff. Not to mention how much less time I spend cleaning now that I’ve cleared my home of all the unnecessary. Feels good!
      Thanks for commenting!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

